Physics Department

About Physics Department:

The Department of Physics is oldest one – right from the period the college was under the affiliation to Madras University [1945 -1963]. In the beginning Prof.K.Sitaramam was the only faculty who started the Physics Laboratory in a small room for a couple of students. With his dedication and commitment to the profession, the department showed a sign of remarkable growth, even to the extent of conducting theory and practical classes for pre-professional course run by the Government Medical College, Bellary in 1950s and 1960s. In view of the gradual increase in the work load, the staff strength also increased proportionately [number of approved posts increased to 22]. Our institution was affiliated to Mysore University [1963–1968] and to Karnataka University [1968–1980] and then to Gulbarga University [1980–2010]. Since 2010 the college is affiliated to Vijayanagara Sri Krishnadevaraya University, Ballari. The department underwent an overall development with well-equipped four laboratories, which gained the name at the university level. The departmental library under UGC’S COSIP scheme is an additional source of knowledge for both the students and staff of the department.

Many Alumni of the Department have brought laurels not only to the college but to the country by their outstanding contribution to the field of science at national and international levels. The eminent space scientist, former Chairman of Indian Space Research Organisation [ISRO] and present president of Karnataka State Science and Technology Academy, was a student of this department in 1950’s. He recently visited the department in connection with the KSTA regional conference on 16th and 17th January 2015 on the theme “Science and Society” jointly organized by Veerashaiva College, Government of Karnataka, Department of Science and Technology and Karnataka Science and Technology Academy, Bengaluru. In his speech, Prof.U.R. Rao recollected his student days and spread the message of scientific temperament to the students and public. Dr. Syed Ibrahim who was the first Indian to get Ph.D., from U.S.A. in nuclear medicine, later a faculty in the department was a student of this College.

The Department has two Doctorates and two M.Phil. degree holders as faculty members. The staffs regularly attend seminars, symposia to enrich their knowledge about the latest trends in physics. The laboratory manuals for all the semesters have been prepared by the faculty members, which is very much useful to students. The manuals are supplied to other colleges on demand.

Seminars on Lasers, Theory of Relativity, Quantum Mechanics and Bose – Einstein statistics are delivered by B.Sc., IV and B.Sc., VI semester students. They also presented papers on Biographies of various Physicists. Since five years the department staff is involved in guiding the students in preparing science exhibits for zonal and state level science exhibition competitions and also in lecture contests.
The Department has purchased latest equipment in accordance with curriculum worth of Rupees One lakh fifty thousand.  The Department has established a linkage programme with the Department of Mechanical Engineering, R.Y.M.E.C., Ballari and Department of Oncology, VIMS, Ballari to exchange knowledge, experience and skills mutually.
Special Lectures were arranged by the department on latest topics like Higg’s Boson [God Particle], Energy Crisis, Bio-Fuels, DNA Replication and Repair. Research opportunities in University of Sinica, Taiwan were introduced to our students by Dr. Naveen Vankadari, Scientist and faculty of University of Sinica also alumnus of our College.
The following shows the details of faculty of the department and the additional responsibilities entrusted to them:

  Sri. H. Jayaprakash Goud Principal
  Dr. G Rajashekhar

Head of the Department of Physics & Convener, RUSA

Director of Research and Development Council,Vice President of Science Association

  Ms. A. Shirly Jones Nodal Officer, Anti-ragging Committee,
Assoc. Convener, RUSA Associate Editor, College Magazine.
  Dr. K.C. Sajjan Co-Organizing Secretary, KSTA Conference,

The Department has installed a Solar Panel to supply power to Ladies Staff room to demonstrate the use of Solar Energy in day to day life. The department has future plans of  P. G. Course, Using latest ICT in teaching methodology and organizing National Seminar.
Keeping learner at our focus, we the faculty strive hard to inculcate scientific temperament with a thrust on research in advanced fields of Physics.

Quality Policy of the Department:

  1. To conduct seminars, conferences and workshops by inviting eminent persons from the respective fields so as to create interest among the students regarding the scope and latest developments in various specialized areas of Physics.
  2. As seeing is believing, the department encourages students to go for industrial tours so as to get the students exposed to the practical aspects of the study.
  3. To develop the personality and improve their inter-personnel skills students are encouraged to participate in seminars and debate competitions.
  4. An inter-disciplinary knowledge and skill are essential to compete in the present world. So, students are motivated in this dire



















Contact Address

Veerashaiva College

08392 - 242185 / 242183
    08392 - 242183
    This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Publish the Menu module to "offcanvas" position. Here you can publish other modules as well.
Learn More.